Ontario Finest Meat Competition™:

In 1987, MPO launched its first meat competition with product categories that embrace both modern trends and the enduring heritage of Ontario’s artisan meat and poultry products. The competition, which is exclusive to MPO business members, attracts around 150 entries, and draws a stellar roster of knowledgeable, influential judges.

2019 Award Winners
2017 Award Winners
2015 Award Winners

Find Award Winning Products

Ron Usborne Award of Excellence:

Introduced in 2007, this award is presented to the company achieving the highest combined score based on their product placements in the competition. Scores are calculated by assigning three points for each platinum placing entry, two points for gold, and one point for silver.

VG Meats, Simcoe (2017)
Halenda’s Fine Foods, Oshawa (2015)
Halenda’s Fine Foods, Oshawa (2013)
Halenda’s Fine Foods, Oshawa (2011)
VG Meats, Simcoe (2009)
VG Meats, Simcoe (2007)

Diamond Award:

Introduced in 2015, this award is presented to the company whose product achieved the highest score across all categories in the competition.

Halenda’s, Oshawa, Double Smoked Bacon (2017)
Speducci Mercatto – Toronto, Paganelli’s Gentile Salami (2015)

Ontario’s Finest Butcher Competition:

The inaugural event, held in 2014, was so popular it is now an annual competition matching butcher against butcher in a head to head battle for meat cutting supremacy. Exclusive to MPO members, competitors showcase their knife skills in an elimination round, with the top three butchers moving on to the final round.

2020 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Steve Toms, Fortinos
2019 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Brett Herrington, Herrington’s Quality Butchers, Port Perry
2018 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Nicholas Matusiak, Halenda’s, Oshawa
2017 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Damian Goriup, Florence Meats, Oakville
2016 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Peter Baarda, J & G Quality Meats, Burlington
2015 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Peter Baarda, Lococo’s, Stoney Creek
2014 Ontario’s Finest Butcher – Peter Baarda, Lococo’s, Stoney Creek

Dave Tiller People’s Choice:

Since 2004, this peer-evaluated competition of snack stick and jerky products takes place biennially at MPO’s The Meating Place. Entrance in the competition is exclusive to MPO business members with the winners announced at the MPO Awards Banquet.

2018 Snack Stick – Quinn’s, Yarker, Honey Heat
2018 Jerky – Buster Rhino’s, Whitby, Pig Candy
2016 Snack Stick – R. Denninger, Hamilton, Landjäger Meat Sticks
2016 Jerky – Franz’s Butchershop & Catering, Peterborough, Magnificent Maple Jerky
2014 Snack Stick – Quinn’s, Yarker, Beef and Pork Snack Sticks
2014 Jerky – Quinn’s, Yarker, Regular Beef Jerky

Past Winners